The Herald of Everett, Washington
HeraldNet on Facebook HeraldNet on Twitter HeraldNet RSS feeds HeraldNet Pinterest HeraldNet Google Plus HeraldNet Youtube
HeraldNet Newsletters  Newsletters: Sign up | Manage  Green editions icon Green editions


Prep sports headlines
HeraldNet Newsletter Delivered to your inbox each week.
Published: Saturday, February 11, 2012, 10:17 p.m.

3A Regional Wrestling Tournament

SAMMAMISH -- Trailing 8-5 in the final round, Everett's Connor Boyce got a reversal and a two-points near fall to come from behind and beat Lake Washington's Yaroslav Petrechko 9-8 in the 170-pound final of the 3A Regional Wrestling Tournament at Skyline H.S.
Both Boyce, the No. 1 ranked 3A wrestler in his weight class in the state, and Petrechko, the No. 2-ranked wrestler, will both be heading to Mat Classic next weekend.
For complete individual results, click here
Fueled by Boyce's first-place finish and top-four finishes by Christian Bagdadi (113), Jessie Lopez (132), Ric Stewart (182) and Chris Aiwiro (195), Everett finished third with 98 points in the team standings.
Sedro-Woolley (151) and Mount Vernon (121) finished first and second, respectively.
Everett head coach Brien Elliott was named the 3A Region 1 Coach of the Year.
At Sedro-Woolley H.S.
Team Scores--1. Sedro-Woolley 151; 2. Mt. Vernon 121; 3. Everett 98; 4. Oak Harbor 96; 5. Glacier Peak 90; 6, Mercer Island; 7. Mount Si; 8. Lynnwood 60; 9. Ferndale 59.5; 10. Meadowdale 57; 11. Shorecrest 48; 12. Liberty 44.5; 13. Lake Washington 44; 14. Bellevue 42; 15. Marysville Getchell 30; 16. Shorewood 29; 17. Mountlake Terrace 4; 18. Juanita 4; 19. Sammamish 0.
3A State Qualifiers--106--3. Luis Cardona (MG), 4. Jeremy Vester (OH); 113--1. Jesus Escalona (SC), 4. Christian Bagdadi (E), 5. Alex Lee (SW); 120--1. Mathew Floresca (SW), 3. Alex Basabe (L), 4. Jaheel Vester (OH); 126--1. Cody Fakkema (OH), 2. John Kim (GP), 3. Zack Calkins (L); 132--3. Mark Johnston (OH), 4. Jessie Lopez (E), 5. Zane Crook (E); 138--2. Timmy Douglass (GP); 145--2. Jacob Elledge (GP),3. Morgan Smith (M), 4. Nate Tibbott (M), 5. Michael Matwichuk (GP); 152--1. Hunter Lord (L), 2. Joshua Crebbin (OH); 160--5. Zack Skorka (E); 170--1. Connor Boyce (E), 5. Anthony Hawkins (E); 182--Sean Elledge (GP), 4. Ric Stewart (E); 195--1. Ciaran Ball (MD), 2. Chris Aiwiro (E); 220--4. Ahmed Ahmed (L); 285--2.Ian Bolstad (S), 4. Alfredo Diaz (MG), 5. Jackson Constant (OH).

Share your comments: Log in using your HeraldNet account or your Facebook, Twitter or Disqus profile. Comments that violate the rules are subject to removal. Please see our terms of use. Please note that you must verify your email address for your comments to appear.

You are logged in using your HeraldNet ID. Click here to update your profile. | Log out.

Our new comment system is not supported in IE 7. Please upgrade your browser here.

comments powered by Disqus
digital subscription promo

Subscribe now

Unlimited digital access starting at 99 cents, or included with any print subscription.